201201 – The plan

So I’ve been thinking. What am I going to add to the FFL Blog for the upcoming season? The problem is that virtually everything I think of, I’ll need help to do it. And I’m pretty hesitant to ask, because I know how this sort of thing usually works out.

Having said that – I want the stats. All of them. Every player, every team, every game. I’d like to be able to write things like “that was the most rushing yards against team xxx all season” and “it was the most yards gained from scrimmage by an individual this year”.
The problem is, of course, that I can’t go to every game. I’ve made my schedule for the 2012 season, and I’ll be at 18 of the 28 FFL regular season games (much to the digust of my boss FFL President John van de Mergel, I’m in Australia for one game weekend, so y’all will just have to deal without me for that one. Speaking of that, who out there in the FFL Universe wants to borrow this blog while I’m gone?).

So here’s the deal. I’m looking for people to help out. I can provide you/your team with the sheets I use plus all the info on how to fill them in for me. After the game you can either scan them and send them through to me, or if that’s not going to work, you can snail mail them to me as well (so long as it happens on Monday) – you won’t have to do any analysing or anything like that. I’m going to collate everything (probably in excel) and make it all searchable.

However, I’m not going to start on this unless I know for sure that all of those other 10 games are going to be covered by people. It only requires 1 person per game – each team would only have to do it once or twice per season. This might sound weird, but the ideal person to do it would be an injured player – they can follow the game and don’t have anything to do on the sidelines anyway.

So one of three things are going to happen :

1 – Nobody wants to help and I forget the whole thing, any stats that I take are for my purposes only

2 – Every team wants to help and so all games are covered – I give all coaches access to the database

3 – Some teams help and some don’t but all games are covered – Those teams who help get access and those that don’t help don’t get access. I’m not certain about this yet though. Let’s just say that I hope everyone is willing to help out so I don’t have to exclude anybody.

I can hear people saying “But I don’t want the other teams to know our stats”. I would say to that “Any team can go watch your games and film them – they’ll learn much more from a video than from a bunch of numbers”.

Anyway, have a think about it! But I want to know by mid-January, ‘cos I’ll have a lot of setting up to do.

Next

Player names and numbers. It would be awesome if I could get a list of your team’s players, numbers and positions (I know that this is fluid at times but that’s ok). Of course I don’t need it now, just by your first game. Such things make my life infinitely easier, and save your team representative a whole lot of messages from me like “Say, who was that running back, #27?”. There were teams who did this last year and I really appreciated it.

Rankings

The computer rankings have been streamlined and simplified. They’ll be joined by a media poll, plus hopefully another one which I’m going to get to work on later. Bottom line is if you know anything about the BCS standings, you’ll be very much at home with the new system. Top five teams will be ranked, bottom three will be unranked.

All-FFL team

One important change here – anyone thrown out of a game is automatically ineligible to make the team. I may change the number of players but I’ll think about it later.

Blog restart

I’ll need a few weeks before the season to say what needs to be said, preview wise and all that. Expect the first actual blog of the 2012 season at the beginning of February.

Outro

So that’s just about all there is to say about that. Until next time

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 201201 – The plan

  1. ballhawk says:

    if i’m getting injured i will help you

  2. Dennis says:

    Sunday 4th december there is the junior bowl.

    Brussels bulls vs fighting turtles

    Andenne bears Field at 3 pm.

  3. John says:

    We still need to talk about that one weekend! 🙂
    I’ll take this up at the FFL GA and ask our teams to help out.

    • dalehousden says:

      I thought about asking if the FFL could do something but I figured that it would be too late or that nothing could be done anyway so I decided just to try by myself 🙂 So far so good!

  4. Mark Jasper says:

    what is needed is to film the games; use it for instruction of players and officials.

  5. Bart says:

    That would be so nice! Haha I can hear my WR in the huddle: pass me the ball, I am always open and I can score :p

    I’ll ask our team who can help you with the stats. I’m sure every team will find someone to help out, because this is not something for you. It is for all players in the league. It will stimulated competition and will help make great articels. We’ll be able to see who the top rushers and receivers are aswell as the ballhawks and top tacklers are. Team stats will also come into play and it might help all coaches to gameplan a little better.

    It would raise the level in this league 😉

    • dalehousden says:

      I’m not sure exactly how I’m going to work it yet, even if I have all the numbers. Numbers don’t make for interesting reading so it might end up being something separate from the blog anyway. I’ll have to get smart and find a way to display stats easily and automatically. Fortunately I have some time to think about it all. I mean, I can collate everything in excel but I’ve got to get all the useful stuff out 🙂

  6. Lesley says:

    As BFL president I am thinking of awarding a “fair-play” trophy at the end of the season based on how many (serious) penalties teams accumulate…This could add to the content of your blog.

  7. Hans says:

    I wouldn’t bother keeping some stats of games I’m at. Allthough I can’t tell you more than a week in advance which ones i’ll be at. Mostly Titans games that’s for sure…

Leave a Reply

