0401 – The Barbarian Blog

Hello and welcome to the Barbarian Blog!

So I hadn’t exactly planned to get back into writing, but the Barbarian project needs to be more discussed. And what better way than to go back to the old blog format, seeing as it was so popular before.

In case you missed it last season

The Barbarians were formed out of the selection of the All-FFL team from last year. All players who made the team in the 2013 season (plus some players who filled in for people who couldn’t make it) were invited to play together against Coudekerque (FR) and the Ostend Pirates in the Treasure Cup and boy did we have a good time.

For the gamefilm of Barbarians vs Pirates, go here : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j0LyuhYQu2Y

We had a successful time, winning both games handily, but what was more important was that we had a lot of fun while doing it. The feedback was so positive that a few of us thought that we should go further and make the national team out of it. Unfortunately, this was not allowed by the BFL. However we have decided just to go ahead without their support (which basically means that we cannot call ourselves the Belgian National Team).

Over the next few months we’ll take the opportunity to introduce all the coaches and everyone else involved with the Barbarians. Right now there are 8 coaches, plus a few more people who are involved behind the scenes, which is a pretty big improvement over what we had last year.
There have already been a couple of meetings, and once thing we think we’ve got pretty much worked out is the schedule. I guess it’s possible that it could change but this is what we’re going with so far.

June 22 : training
July 6 : training
July 13 : training
July 20 : Game (at the Treasure Cup?)
July 27 : training
August 3 : Game

A few notes on this. 1 – None of the locations are confirmed. Puurs is always an option but ideally I think we’d train in a few different places. 2 – If you’re observant you’ll notice a two week break in between the first and second training. This is because the Belgian Bowl is played on June 29. Of course none of the players playing in the Belgian Bowl would be expected at the first training.

Players

I know what you’re thinking – “I want to play!”, well, good. However you’re going to have to be selected, and that’s not going to be easy. You see, last year, I only considered the FAFL (yes, we ended up having 3 players from the LFFAB on the team, but they were “replacement” players for others who couldn’t make it). But this year, I’ll be on a season long tour of Belgium, looking at everyone. There are, what, 17 teams in Belgium? The Barbarian team will have probably about 45 players, which comes out at an average of just under 3 players per team. Oh, and just one quick point, only Belgians will be selected.

How to increase your chances

Easy.
1 – Play hard. If I pick a player I want to know that he’ll give 100% effort 100% of the time
2 – Play fair. This goes without saying – the greatest strength of the Barbarian team last year was our teamwork and friendship, we don’t want dirty players ruining that
3 – Make sure that all of your games are filmed and shared. I cannot be everywhere. And I only believe what I see. If someone writes me a message with something like “I rushed for 250 yards last game”, I won’t believe it until I have seen the game tape – not a highlights package, but the full game tape. So make sure that there is that tape, and that it’s available for everyone (BFL video man is Aarnout Ecker, check out the facebook page here : http://www.facebook.com/groups/1432035937022835/)
4 – Stand out. Play every single play so well that you can’t be ignored (I’m sure that your coaches will appreciate this too)

Outro

So this is the first blog post I’ve written in quite a while, and I’m a bit rusty, but that’s ok, it’s preseason for me too.
I’m not entirely sure what features this blog is going to involve, nor how often I’ll be writing it. I guess it will depend on your reaction to it, at the moment I just really want to get the Barbarian name out there and let you all know just what’s up.
So all I ask is that you leave a ‘like’ if you liked, leave a comment if you’ve got something to say and give it a ‘share’ if you’re excited! Trust me, every response is appreciated, it shows us all that we are doing the right thing in organising this. Until next time, and as we say around here, “Let’s get barbaric”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

